You are here : Township Information  >  Officials & Staff
Adobe Reader

Hydrant & Water Main Flushing

Dear Resident & Business’:

Infrastructure Alternatives, Inc. staff has scheduled flushing of the hydrants and water mains in the Charter Township of Haring.  There are three (3) flushing events that will take place this calendar year. 

The first flush will occur over a 3-day period from May 11th-13th.  The first day of flushing, May 11th, will be performed along Boon Rd to the east of N. Mitchell. The second day of flushing, May 12th, we will be flushing from along Boon Rd to the west on N. Mitchell and along N. Mitchell south of Boon Rd. The third day, May 13th, we will be flushing the North Park / Pine View residential area. All flushing will be performed between the hours of 8:00AM-6:00PM.

The second flush will occur from July 13th-15th. The same areas will be flushed in the same order as explained above. The flushing will be performed between the hours of 8:00AM-6:00PM.

The third flush will occur from October 5th-7th. The same areas will be flushed in the same order as explained above. The flushing will be performed between the hours of 8:00AM-6:00PM.

Important:  Your cooperation is needed to make the flushing program successful.  Please note the following recommendations.

  1. Avoid using water during the time period when water flushing will be performed in your area.
  2. If appropriate, turn off and by-pass your water softening system the morning of when flushing is scheduled to be performed in your area. Do not return your softener to service until after you have flushed your water line (See number 4).
  3. Turn off any automatic water systems, such as time-delayed dishwashers or timed lawn sprinkling systems.
  4. One hour after the scheduled flushing is performed, prior to using water in your home, open the faucet closest to the point where the water enters your home.  Allow the water to run into the nearest drain until it runs clear.  If appropriate, return your water softener or automatic water systems to service.

*If needed, there is no issue with using water while the water system is being flushed. If you do need to use your water during the scheduled flushing times, we recommend running water until clear before use.

During these flushing dates, it is a perfect time for customers to flush the plumbing inside of their homes/businesses if desired. To accomplish a proper flushing throughout the plumbing in your home and your service line, open all of your faucets and let the cold water run for 10-15 minutes.

Also, this is a good time to cycle the water in your hot water heater. To cycle all of the water through your water heater, turn on all the hot water faucets in your home/business until the water runs cold. Again, this is only a recommendation and is not required.

If you have any questions, concerns, experience water quality or pressure problems, please contact IAI staff at (231)577-8793.

Thank you for your cooperation,

Bob Polanic | Area Manager


7888 Childsdale Ave. | Rockford, MI 49341 USA



Our forms are in Adobe Acrobat format. If you do not have this format, click the image below to download the software for free.


Current Weather

Board Members
Supervisor Bob Scarbrough caroscar@netonecom.net
Clerk Paula Dewey clerk@twpofharing.org
Treasurer Elizabeth McCain  beth_mccain@yahoo.com
Trustee Susan Baldwin  
Trustee Theodore Dewey tdewey@twpofharing.org
Trustee Marlene Whetstone  tdryrock@yahoo.com
Trustee Dennis Little  
Deputy Supervisor  Sharon Zakrajsek  
Deputy Clerk                                     Shelley Mackie  clerk@twpofharing.org
Deputy Treasurer            Judy Hill                                                   
Planning Commission
Chairperson George Giftos
Member Susan Baldwin
Member Nate Swiger
Member Sally Randall
Member Ray Hill
Zoning Board of Appeals

Chairperson George Giftos
Member Erik Olson
Zoning Administrator - Ordinance Enforcement & Site Plan Review

Mike Green



Liquor Inspector

Bob Scarborough

231-775-8822 Ext. 2



Fire Chief

Duane Alworden



Fire Department

Haring Township Fire Department has 19 volunteer fire fighters

Assistant Chief
Deputy Chief
Keith Ball
Nate McConnell
Captain   Shane Roper
Lieutenant Ted Dewey
Safety Officer Ted Dewey



Sharon Zakrajsek, Assessor

Great Lakes Assessing, Inc. 
P.O. Box 325  Cadillac, MI 49601

231-468-2977 Sharon Zakrajsek   

Board of Review Members

James Kroes

Gary Reed

Ray Hill